Spiderman Cake & Cupcakes

SpidermanCake2

It’s time for a Superhero! In this case, Spiderman, has made an appearance. I made this cake for a wonderful lady’s, sweet boy’s 6th birthday a while back. He is a HUGE Spiderman fan.

SpidermanCake1

We went with an 8in. Spiderman Cake. Vanilla Cake dyed blue & red. It was frosted with white Vanilla Buttercream. The top of the cake was covered with red buttercream and the Spiderman “mask” was piped on top.

SpidermanCC1

There were also cupcakes to supplement the cake. Chocolate Cupcakes frosted with Vanilla Buttercream and topped with fondant Spiderman Faces and Spider Webs!

SpidermanCC2

I heard that all the goodies were a hit with the birthday boy and the kids at the party. Very flavorful too! These were fun toppers to make and I would like to experiment with the fondant/royal icing relationship in the future!

This entry was posted in Birthday, Cakes, Cupcake, Updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Spiderman Cake & Cupcakes

  1. mae says:

    wow so neat…

  2. Priti says:

    Hi Sarah

    i have to make an eggless chocolate cake (spiderman) for someone, will dark chocolate give me this dark web like you have or did you use Royal Icing here ?

    • Sarah says:

      Priti,

      The webs on the cake are buttercream, which is eggless. The webs on the fondant toppers are royal icing, which is made with meriunge powder, which may or may not be okay (it can be used as an egg substitute, but I believe it is still made of eggs). I suppose that you could use melted white chocolate, or milk chocolate, just know that it will not dry as hard and may be a bit tacky.

      Hope this helps! 🙂

  3. first pic, how do you get the bottom layer of red buttercream to be so smooth? and if you don’t mind me asking what recipe do you use for the frosting? I’m totally new to cake decorating and I’m trying to learn a few super hero designs. I really like your spiderman design 🙂

    • Sarah says:

      Hello! In order to smooth the frosting, I let it sit for a bit to “harden” then use a Viva (non-patterned) paper towel and a fondant smoother to work out any imperfections. For he most part I used Wilton’s Buttercream Frosting recipe and I have altered it to suit my tastes, but thats a good place to start. If you use the crisco it hardens a bit and holds up really well to humidity and will not melt. 🙂

      • Oh I’ve used Wilton’s recipe and made personal alterations as well. Thanks for the crisco and other tips 🙂 Oh how did you get your red to be so… red? I’ve tried using red colouring but no matter how much I add it keeps getting pinker; so I’m not sure if there’s a special red colouring to get?

      • Sarah says:

        I use Americolor Red Red or Super Red. It also helps to split your buttercream into smaller batches, mix each individually, and then combine them all together. Hope this helps! 🙂

      • thanks so much for the tips!

Leave a comment