Cinco de Mayo Cake & Cookies

SombreroCake3

I made some special treats for a Birthday that fell on the 5th of May, otherwise known as, Cinco de Mayo!

SombreroCake1

The first treat was a Rainbow Sombrero Cake. The cake was Vanilla dyed in the colors of the rainbow. I baked one large section and one smaller section and then carved the two to fit together into the shape of a Mexican sombrero. I then covered it in Vanilla Buttercream dyed a straw color. After covering the cake I piped on red and green accents with more buttercream.

SombreroCake2

I am really happy with how the whole thing came together. I wish I could have gotten a shot of the rainbow colored inside!

MexSC5

The next treat was Mexican Themed Sugar Cookies. I made my Sugar Cookie dough and cut it into a Chili Pepper, Cactus, Margarita Glass, and a Piñata. I decorated them with Vanilla Royal Icing and sanding sugar.

MexSC1

MexSC3

MexSC2

I was very pleased with how they all turned out and they all came together quite nicely. My favorite was the piñata, they were super cute!

MexSC4

This entry was posted in Birthday, Cakes, Cookies, Holiday, Updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

