Hibiscus Flower Cake

HibiscusPaintCake1

I was asked recently to make a simple cake. The recipient was visiting family on Okinawa, and is a fan of all the Hibiscus plants growing around the island, so I used that as inspiration for this cake.

HibiscusPaintCake3

The cake was Almond with Vanilla Buttercream. It was then covered in white Fondant.

HibiscusPaintCake5

I used a new painting technique on top of fondant to paint the Hibiscus flowers. You use watered down food coloring and paint on dry fondant like it’s a blank canvas. How cool is that!?

HibiscusPaintCake2

I heard that the cake was a hit for both the looks and flavor. I really enjoyed trying something new and would like to do more of these “painting” cakes in the future!

HibiscusPaintCake4

This entry was posted in Cakes, Occasion, Updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hibiscus Flower Cake

  1. mydearbakes says:

    This is such a wonderful bake! I simply adore the design! =)

  2. Katie says:

    We loved it! Thank you so much! My mother-in-law said it was the most delicious and beautiful cake she has ever had.

    • Sarah says:

      Katie,
      Thank you so very much for this comment! I am happy you gave me the opportunity to make this cake for your family and your mother-in-law!

  3. Janita says:

    Wow! That looks so pretty! How much water to food coloring is it? I’m new to using fondant and cake decorating.

    • Sarah says:

      Janita,

      Thank you for the comment! The water to food coloring ratio is subjective. The more water, the lighter the color, the less water, the darker the color. Also, you don’t want to use too much water as it may effect the fondant. I practice on a scrap piece to make sure I have the correct ratio each time. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

