Fall Flowers Spice Cake

FallFlowPuCake3Here is a cake I made during the fall, the Fall Flowers Spiced Cake. It was for a gals mother while she was in town visiting. They wanted something simple, with flowers, and to have a whipped style frosting.

FallFlowPuCake4

The cake I made was Spiced Pumpkin. Nothing says fall like pumpkin, cinnamon, ginger, and nutmeg! I turned out very moist from the pumpkin puree, and the spices complemented each other very well.

FallFlowPuCake1

For the frosting I researched whipped-style buttercream. The client mentioned that they liked the style of frosting that was on cakes at Costo, so thats what I tried searching. I stumbled upon a recipe that was similar to what I was looking for so I decided to give it a try! The biggest difference in this Whipped Frosting is that you “cook” the egg whites and sugar before adding it to a mixer to be whipped up. Once it was nice a fluffy I frosted the cake by using a swirling motion to create some texture.

FallFlowPuCake2

For decorations I made Royal Icing flowers in various fall colors. Centered on the cake they look like a fall bouquet arrangement. I heard later from the client that the frosting was exactly what she was looking for – whipped, vanilla, and sweet. It also complemented the spiced pumpkin cake very well.

This entry was posted in Cakes, Updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fall Flowers Spice Cake

  1. mydearbakes says:

    Nicely done! I really like how the cake looked like. It just has that cheery feel to it 🙂

Leave a Reply

