Wilton Cake Class Pt. 1

I reciently took part in a Wilton cake class. It was with the new class formula that breaks it up into distinct groups, vice levels.

The groups are:

  • Decorating Basics
  • Fondant & Gum Paste
  • Flowers & Design

You can take any class at anytime. There are no more prerequisits. I think this makes things a lot easier, say for someone who knows they only want to work with Fondant, they don’t have to waste their time and money on Buttercream frosting.

The class I just finished with was Decorating Basics. It was fun! We made 3+ cakes, cupcakes, and cookies. I have made so many batches of buttercream frosting, the recipe is seared into my brain!

Here is what I ended with after the first class:

WRHeartSprinkles

Basic white cake. We practiced frosting the cake. I took it home and decorated a little more. Valentines day was right around the corner!

HeartCookie

We also used cookies as a way to practice piping the star tip!

This was not in the class. I made an extra cake and, not wanting to waste, I made a quick lemon glaze and viola! – lemon cake w/ lemon glaze!

LemonGlazeCake

All these goodies went to some very deserving Marines! Thank you for all you do!

Next up: Part 2 of the Decoration Basics! Stay tuned!

This entry was posted in Cakes, Classes, Cookies, Updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wilton Cake Class Pt. 1

  1. Lou says:

    Hi Sarah,
    I love seeing and hearing what you are doing. Sarah’s sweet treats are very creative!!!
    We are still waiting for snow to melt here and now they are saying another storm this week—luckily vacation is 7 days away.
    Love,
    Aunt Lou

  2. Carole Archambault says:

    sarah, I’m so happy to see what you’re doing and wish you were here to help me do it too. I had a big urge to learn to make cheesecakes and do cake decorating but the “cake school” is a ways away and in the eve so doesn’t work for me. Maybe I can learn from looking at your pictures… Cheesecakes are working out fine. Need some work on using the tips and consistancy of frosting. You are an inspiration!! Glad you’re busy. Love Carole and Aunt Lil.

Leave a Reply

